Skip to main content

Have a Question? Use Our New Chat Feature! Chat with our Medical Information Specialists by clicking on the Chat with us now available in the lower right corner of this screen.

Hereditary Angioedema (HAE)

Types of HAE

Hereditary Angioedema is classified into three types based on what problem the genetic defect causes.

  • Type I - Low levels of C1-INH in the body; this is the most common form of HAE and accounts for ~85% of people with HAE.
  • Type II – Normal or elevated levels of C1-INH, but C1-INH is dysfunctional; this accounts for ~15% of people with HAE.
  • HAE with Normal C1-INH (formerly known as HAE Type III) - Normal and functioning levels of C1-INH; this type of HAE is extremely rare and not well understood.
For U.S. Healthcare Professionals only
For U.S. Healthcare Professionals only

The purpose of this CSL Behring Medical Affairs website is to support Healthcare Professionals with scientific information. This website is also a channel for U.S. Healthcare Professionals to submit questions or connect with CSL Behring U.S. Healthcare Professionals. The information provided is for educational purposes only and is not intended to promote any products. By continuing to use this site you are acknowledging that you are a US Healthcare Professional

toggle chat overlay
toggle chat overlay Chat with us